Supporting Dance Since 1979



Inspiring Dance Excellence for 36 Years

The Young Dancers Competition provides an opportunity for ballet students, ages 10 to 18, to work with a nationally prominent ballet master or mistress and compete for thousands of dollars in awards to further their ballet training. The Young Dancers Competition is only open to dancers who live and train in Colorado. 

Be part of an organization that recognizes the importance of art and creative expression 
in our lives and the lives of Colorado children. 



2018 Young Dancers Competition Winners

The Denver Ballet Guild awarded a total of $27,500 overall to the 2018 Young Dancers Competition winners. 

 The Florence Rushton Medallion Alexandra Gray 
 The Presidents' Award Alexandra Gray
 The David Parvin Award Maya Lukasic 
 Emily's Inspiration Award Nicole Moyer 


Mr. Ilya Kozadayev, Master Teacher for the 2018 Young Dancers Competition.  Ilya Kozadayev is an international, award-winning dancer and choreographer. Born in St. Petersburg, Russia, to a family of ballet dancers, he began his dance training at the prestigious Vaganova Ballet Academy in St. Petersburg, Russia, and continued training at The School of American Ballet in New York City and at the Academy of Colorado Ballet here in Denver. He then graduated from the John Cranko Ballet Academy in Stuttgart, Germany. He also has attained an M.F.A. in Choreography from Jacksonville University. 


Our Young Dancers Competition will be held on March 6, 7, and 8th 2020 at the Performing Arts Complex at Pinnacle Charter School. 

The event is open to classical ballet students who are residents of Colorado, living and training in Colorado. 

Student applications will be available from your studio director and are available for download below.

* The application deadline is Friday, January 17, 2020

2020 Young Dancers Competition Forms:

Studio Letter

Studio Interest Form

D Variations

1st Parent Information Letter


 Category II 
 1st Place Maya Lukasik
 2nd Place Lydia Foley
 3rd Place  Sarah Van Breeman
 4th Place-tie Isabella Vickers
 4th Place-tie Brooke Janney
 6th Place  Roxy Slavin, Eliza Fogdall, Lauren Woodward, Chloe Colter, Isabell Harris 
Category III 
 1st Place Lauren Vogel
 2nd Place Olivia Daugherty
 3rd Place Avery Underwood
 4th Place Allison Key 
 5th Place Nicole Moyer
 6th-10th Place Ellie Renner, Dayne Collins, Lili Travaglia, Natalie Tate, Ada Peruzzi
Category IV 
 1st Place Alexandra Gray
 2nd Place Madeleine Kuebler
 3rd Place Vanessa Childress
 4th Place Alexandra Gillion
 5th Place Kyra Hughes
 6th-10th Place Josie Hawkins, Emma Michaux, Madeline Ryner, Katelyn Cecil, Graciela Portillo
Category V.Jr 
 1st Place Tate Ryner
 2nd Place  Griffin Koehl
 2nd Place-tie Samuel Portillo
 4th Place Gilbert Armstrong
 5th Place  Remi Wagner
 6th-10th Place Jared Guest, Joshua Selvin
Category V.Sr 
 1st Place Isaac Mueller
 2nd Place Christopher Mitchell
 3rd Place Alejandro Perez


The Florence Ruston Medallion is awarded to a dancer in recognition of overall excellence in ballet throughout the competition. One dancer selected by the judges from among the competitors in Categories III, IV, and V receives the Florence Ruston Medallion annually. Florence Ruston was an early member of the Denver Ballet Guild and founded the Young Dancers Competition in 1981 to recognize achievement in ballet and help advance the careers of young dancers. This award honors Florence Ruston’s lifetime dedication to dance and her commitment to supporting ballet students in Colorado.

The Presidents’ Award was created by presidents of the Denver Ballet Guild to encourage young dancers to continue their pursuit of excellence in dance. The current DBG President presents this award to the recipient of the Florence Ruston Medallion.

The David Parvin Award for Outstanding Young Artist was created to recognize excellence in an aspiring dancer early in her or his ballet career. One dancer selected by the judges from among the competitors in Category II (12-13 years old) receives this award annually. The Denver Ballet Guild established this award to honor the memory of local artist and sculptor David Parvin, whose friendly presence and artistic contributions to the Young Dancers Competition over nearly two decades are remembered fondly by those who knew him.

Emily’s Inspiration Award recognizes a dancer who demonstrates a special love and passion for dance and who performs with exceptional emotional commitment. Beginning 2018, the Denver Ballet Guild has the privilege of offering an Award in memory of Emily Redosh, a young local woman who embraced life and pursued dance with unfettered passion and dedication despite the challenges of coping with a life-threatening disease for over 20 years. 

Read More

P.O. Box 2656 Littleton, CO 80161 

Contact Us Terms | Privacy | Refund Policy

 © Denver Ballet Guild. All Rights Reserved 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software